5 Terrifying Ways Your Own Gadgets Can Be Used to Spy On You | Cracked.com

5 Terrifying Ways Your Own Gadgets Can Be Used to Spy On You | Cracked.com

Imagine it’s Saturday night and you’re doing your usual Saturday night thing, when your webcam secretly clicks on. And somewhere, somebody starts watching you while you wipe Dorito dusted fingers on your whitey tighties and bob your head to Nickelback. They could be secretly uploading videos of you on to YouTube, taking notes for anthropological purposes or, if you’re lucky, masturbating.

via 5 Terrifying Ways Your Own Gadgets Can Be Used to Spy On You | Cracked.com.

2 thoughts on “5 Terrifying Ways Your Own Gadgets Can Be Used to Spy On You | Cracked.com

  1. This was very surprising to me. The fifth one was the most surprising seeing that anyone could have the power to hack into your computer system and turn your web camera on. I am glad I do not have a built in web camera in my computer. I can easily connect and disconnect when I want and I do not have to be so paranoid about the possibility of being watched. The story of the kids being spied on is just creepy and gross. I am sure no parent agreed with the school being able to spy on their children while they are at home. I remember when I was in high school I decided to get on a site that I was not supposed to be on during class and my teacher took control of the computer from another computer and placed me on the site I was supposed to be on. I was not surprised that the teachers were able to survey all the computers, but I just thought it was going to the extreme, though it is clearly helpful. However as far as spying on the students through a web camera is pushing it. It is more disturbing that there is free software available to be able to do this with ease. This definitely makes people more paranoid and less likely to want to buy technology. At least those who are aware of the problem.

  2. I have always been keenly aware of the possibility of someone spying on me by way of webcam since the incident in Pennsylvania. I was surprised when I first learned that no modifications had been made to the devices. as a result, I now flip my laptop closed when not in use, and I unplug my webcam to the desktop when I’m not using it. It is very scary to see all of these companies offering cheap solutions to spy on people, and I think that the legality of these products should be greatly reconsidered.

Leave a Reply

