They Loved Your G.P.A. Then They Saw Your Tweets.

At Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Me., admissions officers are still talking about the high school senior who attended a campus information session last year for prospective students. Throughout the presentation, she apparently posted disparaging comments on Twitter about her fellow attendees, repeatedly using a common expletive.

Perhaps she hadn’t realized that colleges keep track of their social media mentions.

via They Loved Your G.P.A. Then They Saw Your Tweets. – NYTimes.com.

7 thoughts on “They Loved Your G.P.A. Then They Saw Your Tweets.

  1. I believe this is something students need to be aware of when applying to schools and jobs. If students do not want their social media accounts to be accessible there are ways to keep them private, or at least make them not easily accessible. If students make their twitter accounts private, outside users can’t access their tweets.

    Students need to be more aware that recruiters are doing more extensive research into prospective students because they have easy access to social media.

  2. I was unaware that universities, at least some, were looking at potential applicants’ social media and online records to get a better scope of how they carry themselves. At the same time I am not at all surprised.that this is occurring. Things such as positions of employment, college admissions and monetary donations such as grants and scholarships have become so competitive that those who monitor such processes are doing all they can to choose the best candidate. Those who are applying for such things need to be smart about what they post and how they portray their thoughts on social media sites, it might just be the difference in achieving what you want.

  3. I have mixed feelings about this situation. I think that students need to be aware what they post on the internet and how it can influence their future. However, I think that schools need to consider that people are human and that they do make mistakes. What someone posts as a 15 or 16 year old high school student may not be represented as who they are now. Students should be aware that colleges/universities and future employers are going to use social media and the internet to try and find out more about them,therefore, students should try to keep up with privacy and keeping their accounts private and not visible by others. Keeping accounts private becomes harder as social media continuously changes.

  4. Well this makes me feel old because when I was applying for school there were no stories about admissions looking at my social media. With that said, times are changing and the younger generation will have to adapt their social media.

    I think it is important that kids are aware of what can happen if they post inappropriate content but I also think they should be told to make their profiles private. Kids are getting on social media in grade school and they post all throughout middle school and high school. I know personally I would not want an admissions officer looking at posts I had when I was in middle school or even the beginning of high school.

    Also I think what needs to be looked at is the fairness admissions. Is it fair for an admissions officer to judge a candidate on their social media they posted in high school?

    I think this can be argued both ways.

    Yes- It is fair because a social media is a good representation of that person.

    No-It is not fair because there are also a whole lot more to a person other than their social media person. Also their social media page is a representation of who they were at that moment in time. As people age and mature they change so there social media from 5 years ago will not nearly be as accurate as to who the person really is compared to who they are now and who they will become.

  5. I don’t agree with viewing of social media websites by employers or people who work for college admissions. I know that many employers are doing this, however I didn’t realize that people who work for college admissions are also now doing this. I don’t agree that social media is always a good representation of a person. I could have a friend who posts a lot of pictures while she/he is at a bar with friends. That same person could be a 4.0 student and work a good job. However there are companies who see pictures of someone with alcohol on Facebook and decide not to hire that person. Many people go to their job everyday and do exactly what is expected of them and go home and might say rude things on Twitter or Facebook. If they can do the job they were hired to do then I don’t understand why what they do on social media matters. I can only agree with employers if they see someone saying bad things about the company.

    With college admissions I still think that what teens are saying online shouldn’t be a deciding factor on whether they should get into college. If a student is getting good grades, has a good SAT score, and the other requirements to be accepted, then social media shouldn’t matter. I don’t think that college admissions was looking at social media when I was applying. If they were, I know plenty of people who shouldn’t have been accepted for what they post on social media. There are people who are 4.0 students that may get on Twitter and write insulting jokes, use bad language, or post questionable pictures.

    I think high school is a bad time for people to look at social media and judge someone. Many people don’t mature until they have experienced college, start paying rent, have bills, or get a job. Also, many people may change when they make new friends or take on new hobbies they didn’t know about. There are countless of reasons that social media should not be representation of whether or not to accept someone into college.

    -Amy B.

  6. Considering I am very careful as to what I post online on any social media site I have never worried about a school or employer looking at my Facebook or Twitter. I also feel however that it is common sense that whatever is posted online is fair game when it comes to college admission or getting a job. If I worked with college admissions and seen posts from a potential student bashing the school why would I want to accept them? If they are willing to bash the school before they even began then how would that carry over when they are accepted? Same goes for potential employers. It is risky to hire someone who has bad feelings prior to being hired because it could lead to other problems at the work place that could have been avoided. I would also question why the person feels the way they do. Yes, we are all humans and make mistakes and some comments should be overlooked but at the same time you could tell your friend sitting beside you and not the whole world.

  7. I never understand why some people post the things they do on social media. I find it very annoying and immature when people rant or whine on social media. I strongly believe that people need to be much more careful what they post on social media. Since so many people use and are familiar with social media, it is foolish not to believe that acquaintances might look for you on social media.

    People really aren’t secure using social media unless they set very strict privacy settings on their account. If a person allows anyone to see their social media profile, then that person is definitely vulnerable to having their profile viewed by people they barely know. During my internship this summer, my mentor informed me that he tried looking me up on Facebook before I even started my internship. Even something like a trashy profile picture that was taken in order to be humorous can come back to haunt people. I believe that what people post on social media helps define the type of person they are.

    Social media has become a place to judge people by what they post. There have been many occasions where I have had discussions with friends over what other people have posted on social media. As more and more people use social media to judge people they know and don’t know, I feel like it is time for people to really think about the things they post. I strongly believe that most personal things should never be posted on social media. I feel like my personal business is really none of anyone else’s business. From my perspective, people tend to look down on people that post ridiculous things on social media. Overall, I feel like people should really grow up and taken social media much more seriously.

Leave a Reply

